What do I learn in school?

“What did you learn at school today?”

As we sit around the dinner table each evening, this is a question that is regularly presented by my parents.

Sometimes my brother and I reply that we didn’t learn anything, but I know this isn’t true.

I learn a lot in school. However, sometimes I don’t think that it is necessarily what my teachers thought they were teaching.

Being in multiple AP and advanced courses, I always have a full plate in front of me. It often seems like it should be impossible for me to absorb all of the information presented to me, but somehow I manage. I think this is due to the process of time management that I’ve been taught over the years. Each day that my teachers assign homework and I know I have an activity that is going to take up my evening, I am taught that I need to step back and prioritize what needs to get done. Essentially, every homework assignment I have is teaching me something other than the material we are covering in class.

In school I learn important communication skills. With such a vast variety of people in my midst, I am forced to be in situations that require communication skills that might not be used if I wasn’t at school: I have to communicate with my teachers about difficult concepts or missed days, I have to communicate with my peers on subjects that we might disagree on, and I have to keep a polite, friendly attitude toward everyone I come across.

Scholastically speaking, I have learned quite a bit as well. I think that my teachers do a great job of teaching their subjects in my classes. I mean, I know a lot more about Calculus than I ever thought I would! So, when the question, “What are you really learning in school?”, comes up, I can honestly say, more than you’d think. There is a lot more to school than the academics, and I think that is a good thing.

One thought on “What do I learn in school?

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Many of the skills students learn at school are far beyond the subject matter in the classroom. It is refreshing to know there are more students that have your clarity of the untaught school lessons. These will serve you well through your life. Insightful post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *