Thin mints

The world is currently in the midst of Girl Scout cookie season.

I gave up sweets for lent.

Let’s just say, it’s been rough…

…and it hasn’t even been a week.

No, I’m not crazy.

If we get technical about it, I actually gave up both sweets and snacks for lent. Therefore, I can’t have any snacks between meals, unless they are a healthy addition to my daily diet, and I can have no sweets whatsoever. Many people ask me if I’m Catholic when they hear that I’ve given things up for lent, but I’m not Catholic, I’m Methodist, and this seems to throw a curve ball at people sometimes.

I would like to focus this blog post about the reasons that I, PERSONALLY, give things up for the season of lent.

During lent, Christians are preparing for Easter. It is supposed to be a time where you can grow in your faith. It might seem odd to give up something like sweets an snacks to grow in your faith, but I think its a wonderful thing. In my opinion, it all comes to your personal relationship with God. I feel like eating all of that junk is weighing me down, and if I can’t feel good about what I’m giving my body, I feel like I lose focus on what is most important: my relationship with God. Therefore, giving up these things is opening me up to a better lifestyle. I want to be my best self because I think that’s what The Creator wants for all of us; I want to be my best self, but, not for myself…For Him–If that makes sense. (Sorry for all of that crazy punctuation!)

Now, this is definitely not to say that I think that everyone should give something up during the Lenten season. As I said before, I feel like it just depends on where you are in your faith walk, and it’s just a really personal thing. If you feel like adding or giving something up in your life with strengthen your faith, then I’d say go for it!

If anything, I’d just say to remember WHY your doing what you’re doing. Use the Lenten season to grow in your faith and prepare for Easter, and maybe some of the good habits you form during this time, with stick even after the holiday.

As far a the Girl Scout cookie thing goes, I probably shouldn’t complain too much. It’s such a small thing in relation to this big world. I’ll just keep looking up, and reaching for what I know is important.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *