Writing Magic

When I was younger, I came up with lots of crazy ideas for things I wanted to do. I wanted to start a pre-school, so I set up a tiny school in my basement and made folders and homework for my students. At one point I had my own web-show too. That lasted for a couple of episodes. I remember having a tiny jewelry store on the trailer that sat in my driveway, but I don’t remember there being many customers… I would get so upset with my mom, because, while allowing me to do all of these things, she would always act like they were just games that I was playing, as opposed to the things I told her I COULD do. However, there was one idea I had that was different than all the rest.

I wanted to be a writer.

The other day, I found my old notebooks hiding in a tub in the bottom of the cabinet in my room. I suppose they weren’t really “hiding”, since I knew they were there, but I decided to crack them open to see what was inside. What I found made me smile and brought back a string of memories from my childhood. In each notebook was a story, or two that I had started to write. They were so much fun to read! I remember thinking that I wanted to be an author and write stories just like the authors in my favorite books did.

Around the time I wrote those stories, I remember Santa Claus bringing me a book called “Writing Magic: Creating Stories that Fly” by Gail Carson Levine. She was one of my favorite authors then, and I absolutely adored that book. It inspired me to write magical stories of my own.

My parents and family definitely encouraged my writing. I have an uncle who lives down in Arizona that designed a popular hiking website. He helped me create my own website.. The site was called Magic Pen Depot, and it was supposed to be a website where authors could share their stories. It never became very popular, but a couple of my friends created users, and it was a lot of fun. I was very proud of it. Unfortunately, it no longer exists, but the memories of it do!

I wish I was still as passionate about writing as I used to be. I still love the idea of it, but I don’t know what I’d write. Maybe I’ll have to start a blog after I get out of high school, because I do enjoy writing on here!

I hope everyone has a lovely weekend!

One thought on “Writing Magic

  1. I sincerely hope that you DO continue to blog after high school. Blogging is an excellent way to write on a regular basis. Look at the body of work you’ve created in this short time span! Imagine how you could expand this over the next few years if you stuck with it. Many times blogs are where ideas are born and they can grow into bigger things. I VOTE YES for a post-high school blog!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *