The flower

 

Allison's Flower

One of the hardest things for me to do is to forget the things that don’t go the way that I want them to. I have such high expectations for myself, and I always have this set idea of how I think things should go. This can be said about many areas of my life… I can’t say I’m too proud of it. Something I have always tried to drill into my head it that it’s not up to me how things turn out. Ultimately, it is someone greater who decides— He knows what he is doing. I don’t know why this is so hard for me to swallow, but it is.

If I could do one thing for myself in instances when I am feeling down about the past or worried about the future, it would be to take a look around me. We can get so bogged down in the woes of past events that didn’t go our way or the trials of the future that we think we need to spend time worrying about. However, this simply isn’t the way to go about life.

I saw a picture on Instagram today taken by my wonderful friend Allison Bogges, and it just made me smile. The flower in the picture was simply gorgeous and the colors were breathtakingly vibrant. Now, of course, we can’t always look up to see beautiful flowers in front of us, but we can look up and see the beautiful things in life. I am so blessed in so many ways. So what if something doesn’t go how I’d like it to go? So what if I have trials ahead of me? So what? I am blessed. I have so much grace surrounding me that I shouldn’t focus on the things that bother me… And neither should you. I hope you have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *